DAY 1: Prelude

Personalised Learning Environment and Students Engagement (PLEaSE) through web-blog in creating a platform for Higher Order Thinking (HOT)

It is indeed a mouthful looking at the title. Yep. Earful is also another one of them. The very long sentence is actually my research TOPIC. I wonder is there a limit to the number of words for a research title. OR can a title be short, sweet and funky such as PLEaSE, it is HOT! – ^lol^ kinky at one sense.

All right, back to track. The title length explains what I intend to research on.

As I look at my 18-pages of draft, I realised there is bump, wall, hole, YOU NAME IT, which I am about to encounter.

It is in the METHODOLOGY part. The sample of my students are a class of 75 final year undergraduates. The methodology is divided into 2 PHASES. PHASE ONE looks into the aspect of personalizing the learning environment which is the web-blog. The blog interface and how the content is presented are studied. A checklist of tools is used to monitor the frequency of using the tools to personalize the blog interface. The tools are adapted or even modified by the user (student) to give characterization to the their blog. Example of blog-tools are blog rolls, widgets e.g bookwidget, technorati, clock widget, Flash-Based music player, and tag-board e.g TAG ME. 75 STUDENTS’ BLOGS will be INVESTIGATED for the data collection of PHASE 1.

I AM DYING, DIED WHEN I READ THE SENTENCE WHICH I WROTE EARLIER. WHAT I WAS THINKING? CAN I FINISH MY METHODOLOGY IN 3 MONTHS AND THIS IS ONLY PHASE 1? I EVEN HAVE NOT CODED THE DATA YET.

take a deep breath. breath. breath (typing as I breath in and out)

steps taken:-

ONE. tools to personalize the blog interface = representation of user within the blog. need to do LITERATURE REVIEW for this. what info is relevant to this aspect???I googled blog features / things to put in the blog. I got vague items.

I have not been looking hard enough. I have to work smart NOT HARD.

The next thing I can do is to review all 75 blogs and see what items each blog carried. I will divide to TWO categories. One will be items added to equip the blog. Let’s assume BLOG = NEWLY OWNED EMPTY HOUSE. The analogy of house and furnitures and paint and rooftops. These items are furnitures. Example a chair-item can either be a wooden or a metal chair.

Next, how the user beautify the house using paints. The font-wood/stone/marbles/mosaic and colour-paint which are being used reflects the identity of the house a.k.a blog.

All right. Tomorrow will update on the progress of collating data. gambate-neh. Time to sleep. Have to be up at 630am to work.

-listening to YOUTUBE playlist-

Leave a Reply

