IMHO:portfolio

My CV tends to change over the years.

Yes, me a TESL-ian changed my CV very frequently depending on the company and work I want to go at.

Before I was posted to a very rural school in Paloh (the name does reflect it’s rural-ness), Kluang, Johor, I tried to apply for English course designer in this company which designed courses / modules for English software etc. It was a typical simple CV which outlined my degree with CGPA, the activities participated during my varsity years — ONE PAGE.

After my stint in the secondary school (paloh), another CV (2 pages) similar to the first one but longer and also used the template given by Jobstreet. Then the next job, a different yet the same template of CV (3 pages).

Along my road to creating CVs and also being interviewed (the moral of the story ), I wished I could document all my process of doing activities which can’t be replicated with one phrase or 2 words. At least it would save me the trouble of explaining and in case I forget to add things to show my capabilities. Plus I came across interviewers who did not know how to interview. To save my wasted time, money, I wished I could say – read my eportfolio. Call me if you are interested!"

I looked back at the SEVEN YEARS
and SIGH that I have wasted not keeping my resources which I designed
for my classes (from school to university) and also 3 YEARS during my MASTERs, the materials
produced!!!


Is it showing off? No!

A.For profession/career: It is more towards telling people, this is what I am good at, giving my employers the right frame of mind or leveraging their wave lengths to mine.

B.For networking: The portfolio says "let’s see if we have something similar and we can share."

C.For your learning space: This is my library of thoughts, resources, links, files. (which eventually has the same objectives with C

As I aged, portfolio for my profession, I realised (hopefully not TOO LATE) is paramount, critical, significant!!

Okay all the three superlatives I could list.

An extract from a source:-http://pre2005.flexiblelearning.net.au/newsandevents/FLEXENEWS_2009/JUNE_09/VETePortfolioRoadmap_web.pdf

E-portfolios support lifelong learning by enabling individuals to document and reflect upon their learning and skills development. Among wide ranging uses and benefi ts attributed to e-portfolios, the most regularly cited include provision of a vehicle for:

• supporting transitions and student mobility

• planning and reflecting on learning and career development

• recognising skills and learning styles

• verification of qualifications

• security and control of private information

• recording evidence of employability skills.

Now HOW to build a PROFESSIONAL portfolio.
Here are the STEPS:

1. Decide the objectives of your PROFESSIONAL eportfolio

2. Decide WHO are the ones reading them. REMEMBER: Eportfolio can be carried everywhere.

3. Decide WHAT to put in.
Does the things which you put in going to explain your objectives / reflect your development / show your growth / thoughts?

4. CONSTANT Maintenance and updates on your journey

Anyway,  I have THREE eportfolios. WordPress-portfolio for anyone who wants to know me from the instructional d esigner POV, Facebook- secured portfolio for my network, WindowsLive — eportfolio for my PhD journey

Here are some samples of eportfolios

Sample 01

Sample 02

Sample 03

Sample 04

Sample 05

Leave a Reply

