SL04:Snowman

Today is another adventure at ISTE social gathering. The theme is SNOW. Since, I have never experienced SNOW before, this is consider quite close simulation to SNOW. LOL. Both Mandie (SL) and Louis (SL) host the event. Small but fun. There are snowball throwing, drinking hot cocoa/tea by the campfire, and the best of all: making SNOWMAN SL style. Since I am NEW, it is a challenge to create a snowman despite the instructions given as there is more than just putting the snow ball onto one another.

image

Firstly, I have to add all the objects required for the snowman into my INVENTORY. That is easy.

image

See, my AVATAR is adding the items one by one.

image

Finally, I got all of the items in the INVENTORY. Next, drag out the items one at a time to any empty space for building the snowman. Caution, you need to space to manoeuvre, see 360 all angles.

image

Then right click on the item and then click EDIT. You will have the EDIT box open and some colour arrows on the item. That arrows are for you to move the item so that I can stack the snowball onto one another.

image

See, can move the item left, right, top, bottom, front, back. Not easy at first.

image

Then I can tilt and swivel the item by pressing CTRL and at the same use the mouse to swivel or tilt to whatever position you want. See the sphere like thingy surrounding my snow ball.

image

From my location, I thought I got it right.

image

Unfortunately, it becomes the LEANING SNOWMAN. ARGHGHGHG!!! That is where I need to look at all angles. Press ALT. You can see gauge whether your snowman is proportionate. It is LOTS and LOTS of tries.

image

I can even make the item SMALL by ticking STRETCH in the edit box (SEE BELOW)

image

Then you will see at the item there are colour squares. So, you can manipulate the size. Here I am trying to make the head smaller.

image

FINALLY, after 40 minutes, I made my FIRST SNOWMAN SL style.

image

By the way, I am not the only making it. There are others who are trying to make the snowman. It is a good activity for trying out the functions.  Made me learn and remember. Awesome. Well, the activity also can be done in group or pair work. Saves time.

image

So, I went to take a break. I decide to grab a drink. Lots of choices from latte to tea 🙂

image

And sit with my new SL friends by the campfire (do not ask why is a campfire doing in the snow environment) This is SL anyway where anything can happen. GRIN. With this campfire thing, a place for students to discuss and feedback one another on the before activity.

image~~MY SNOWMAN~~

Leave a Reply

